Enter the Motor Transport Awards 2020

Safety in Operation Award

Entrants for this Award will need to show either an exceptional commitment to all-round operational safety or describe a specific successful initiative designed to improve safety in a particular area of the operation. This category is open to CV operators running 11 or more vehicles and genuine partnerships between product/service suppliers and operators (the entry must be made by the operator).

Judges will be looking for:

For an overall safety policy

  • A brief description of your operation;
  • Accident rates for the last three years using standard measures such as accident frequency rates;
  • What analysis/review was carried out to improve safety;
  • What initiatives were introduced and how;
  • The outcome of the initiatives including a reduction in accidents and injuries or other health and safety benefits;
  • Top-down commitment to the initiatives. 

For a specific safety initiative

  • A brief description of your operation;
  • What was the safety issue you needed to address;
  • What initiative was introduced and how;
  • The outcome of the initiative and how it was measured.
This category is now closed

Sponsored by


  • When you enter you will be required to register yourself, upon doing so, you will receive an email. Once you've received this please click the Activate link in the email to confirm the set up.
  • You will then be able to complete your entry. All entries to the awards are free of charge.
  • You can return at any point using your login credentials to manage your account and modify your entry until the closing date.
  • To enter the awards please complete an entry form on the website filling out all relevant fields and uploading your PDF submission for each category.
  • PDF submissions should be approximately 1000 words fulfilling the category criteria – entries that do not comply will be marked down or rejected.
  • Read carefully the description of the category you wish to enter. Most categories are only open to commercial vehicle operators – please check the category criteria to ensure you are eligible to enter.