Enter the Motor Transport Awards 2020

Haulier of the Year

This, the most coveted award in the road transport industry, is for the outstanding road haulage or 3PL company of the past year. The Haulier of the Year category is open to any company running 11 or more commercial vehicles of 7.5t GVW or over.

To win, you need to show not only strong financial results, but also a commitment to:

  • Legal compliance
  • Business success
  • High operational standards
  • Staff development
  • Safety, health, environment and quality

Judges will be looking for evidence that the haulier:

  • Has long term customers and does not rely on ad hoc transactional business;
  • Delivers added-value rather than price-led commodity services;
  • Has a system to measure and minimise fuel consumption;
  • Has a well-thought-through fleet replacement policy;
  • Has a strong recruitment and training policy.

Entries MUST include: three years’ audited accounts; a print out of the DVSA OCRS for every operating site covered by the entry; evidence of high levels of customer satisfaction (include contact details of five customers we can contact for feedback). 

This category is now closed

Sponsored by


  • When you enter you will be required to register yourself, upon doing so, you will receive an email. Once you've received this please click the Activate link in the email to confirm the set up.
  • You will then be able to complete your entry. All entries to the awards are free of charge.
  • You can return at any point using your login credentials to manage your account and modify your entry until the closing date.
  • To enter the awards please complete an entry form on the website filling out all relevant fields and uploading your PDF submission for each category.
  • PDF submissions should be approximately 1000 words fulfilling the category criteria – entries that do not comply will be marked down or rejected.
  • Read carefully the description of the category you wish to enter. Most categories are only open to commercial vehicle operators – please check the category criteria to ensure you are eligible to enter.